Tinted memories

Staring,

Dwelling,

Pausing

To See.

Musing,

Feeling,

Held up

To the light,

A green glass bottle,

Beautiful in its simplicity

The color dark, yet opaque,

Just enough to let light through.

When viewed from the right angle,

It lets through far more than just light.

Memories of a familial heritage, fading.

Reminders of other experiences, gone.

A portal to an age past, and innocence

No longer present, but held ever close.

A sparkling tradition that refreshes me,

Washes over mind more than tongue.

Il dolce far niente is what I aspire to,

Taking time for my mind to unwind

And my heart to realign its course.

The simplest way to connect

To my Mediterranean roots.

NB


All words, works, writings, photos, and art contained on this blog are the creation and sole intellectual property of Nicholas Biddle. They may not be used or reproduced in any way without the express consent of the author, and proper (legal) credit given to the author.


4 thoughts on “Tinted memories

  1. Christopher,

    Unusual, imagistic, and impressive! Unless I’m imagining things, don’t I see the shape of the poem forming one half of the glass bottle? I haven’t tried a lot of “concrete poetry,” but your poem may spur me on. Nice work!

    • Thanks so much! I would love to see your concrete work. And I don’t mean sidewalks…. (although I trust if you sculpted a statue, that too would show your artistic talent! 😉 )

Leave a Reply

